From Central Europe to Calabria

It’s the 1st of March, 9:35 pm: I’m stepping out of the plane at a place I don’t know, yet it will become my home for the next half year. I’m exhausted after the long journey, but also excited and curious: I’m starting a new chapter as an EVS volunteer joining the team of JUMP Association with the aim to make a difference in Soverato, Calabria, Italy. I’m joining Andra from Romania, and we will work together on developing non-formal education tools, educating, engaging with the local community and much more!

I’m Diana, I’m originally from Slovakia, from a village near the capital, Bratislava. Coming from the heart of Europe, I found the location of my future home very interesting. Have a look at the map:

Back to my arrival and first moments in Calabria: I’m receiving a warm welcome from the JUMP team and the road takes us from one coast to another; to my new home. The biggest surprise appears in the morning when I see our sea view for the first time. Wow!

My first walk around the area proves that it’s very easy to fall in love with this charming town that has all one needs: tiny streets, all kinds of shops, a market square, a promenade, a fish market… On the other hand, I am also discovering all those details that are different here – but that’s for another post. Locals seem to be friendly, open and curious – and I’m looking forward to becoming a part of this small community!

 

Leave a Reply

